Skip to content

World Series Madness!

October 28, 2011

I don’t know if you heard, but the Cardinals and the Rangers are going to duke it out in game 7 of the World Series tonight.

{source}

As a life-long St. Louisan, I have to take part in the festivities. Though my one true love of the sports world is football, and it takes me every ounce of effort to sit through all 9 innings of baseball, I’ve got to have team spirit and represent the STL. It’s part of my livelihood to be spirited. In fact, I was voted “Most School Spirited” in high school, an honor in which I take great pride. Is it bad that I still brag about that, now 6 years later? I hope not because I think it’s awesome. In fact, here is one of my award-winning ensembles for one of the spirit days. I find it rather pertinent:

Don’t make fun of me (well you have permission to make fun of the face I’m making in the second photo). That outfit won me free Homecoming tickets that year. I never had to buy tickets for any dances in high school, in fact, and it wasn’t because my dates bought them. Because I never had dates. Not because of these outfits though. By choice. Why am I defending myself?

So. How do I take part in the baseball craziness if I’m not a huge fan of Americas Past-time? The only way I celebrate anything. I bake.

I actually made these red and white delights during game 5, when our dear friend Kyle was over. The boys were playing pool in the basement, and I was strategically trying to kill a few innings worth of time. I wanted to make celebratory Cardinals cookies, obviously ones that were red and white. What are good red and white combinations?

Cherries and white chocolate.

I scoured Pinterest for the perfect white chocolate cherry concoction, and came across a lightened up version of a Paula Deen recipe. Plus, they had oats, which are proven to lower one’s cholesterol, so even though a lightened Paula recipe is still equivalent to the butteriest, sugariest recipe ever, at least the fiber in the cookies can help whisk away all that bad stuff.

This is how I apply my Nutrition degree.

So, if you have time before the game, whip up a batch of these scrumptious nuggets of Cardinal Cheer!

White Chocolate Cherry Oat Cookies (Or Cardinal Cookies) (Or Rally Squirrel Delights)

adapted from Bobby Deen’s Recipe

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup oats
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
4 Tb. butter, softened
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup plus 2 Tb. white chocolate chips
1/4 cup maraschino cherries, cut into quarters  (may also use dried cherries or candied cherries)
1. Preheat the oven to 375°F.

2. In a large bowl, cream white and brown sugars and butter until light and fluffy. Mix in egg and vanilla until combined.

3. Gradually beat in flour, salt, and baking soda until well mixed. Add oats, combine.

4. Fold in 1/4 cup of the white chocolate and cherries until just mixed.

5. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto greased baking sheet (I use a Crate and Barrel silicone baking mat inside my pans, which is AMAZING for baking!), two inches apart.

6. Bake until golden and the white chocolate is melty, 12-15 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through.

7. Let cool. Meanwhile, melt remaining 2 Tb. of white chocolate chips. Drizzle over cookies and let cool. Bet when still a bit warm so the chocolate is still melty!

8. Enjoy and GO CARDS!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 4:57 pm

    Good stuff Deanne! Why am I not surprised you won “Most School Spirited”?
    Keep writing… but it is frustrating to see this amazing food and not get to eat it. Maybe I will forward your blog to Mary????

  2. October 30, 2011 9:18 am

    omg those pictures from high school take me back haha. i thought of you the other day because we had spirit day at work. teach elementary school and you get to keep doing this crazy stuff!

Leave a Reply

Baked Bree

Baked Bree - Eat Well. Laugh Often.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

