Skip to content

“Opa!” Burgers

August 27, 2011

Sometimes things just pop into my head, and until I carry out that thought or task or whatever it may be, it will not escape my mind. Earlier this week, I was searching for something new to make for dinner and came up with an idea for Greek turkey burgers. I went to the store to get pita, feta, and other miscellaneous Greek-sounding things, gung-ho and ready to whip these bad boys up. But then, I came home, and hubby had taken it upon himself to defrost some chicken. My bubble was officially busted. While it was awesome that he took initiative to cook dinner, I couldn’t help but daydream of an overstuffed pita full of yumminess all week long.


Today, I got some peace of mind. And it was SO delicious.

You know you cook something spectacular when your husband, after one bite, says, with a mouthful, “ohhhhmmmmnnnhhhnnmmmmmm,” or something to that effect, which I interpreted as a caveman-esque way of saying, “wow this is good, great job honey!” Sort of the Tim-the-Toolman-Taylor version of “yum.”

You know what I mean? No? Let me enlighten you.

Yes, I grew up in the 90’s.

Back to the burgers.

These are healthy, delicious, and a nice break from the usual cheeseburger. Plus, anything inside grilled pita makes my heart smile.

“Opa!” Greek Turkey Burgers

1 lb. ground turkey, thawed

1/4 c. pimento-stuffed green olives, finely chopped

1/4 c. crumbled feta cheese

4 halves of pita pocket bread

1/3 tsp. oregano

1/3 tsp. parsley

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp. onion powder

dash of dill

dash of tarragon

salt and pepper to taste

Garnishes: hummus, sour cream, thinly sliced tomatoes, thinly sliced cucumber, lettuce, etc.

Preheat grill.

1. Combine turkey, olives, feta, and spices with hands until well mixed. Feta will still be chunky, but that’s what makes these burgers so delicious!

2. Evenly divide mixture into 4 equal parts. Pack into patties and grill for around 5 minutes on each side or until cooked through.

3. Grill pita for 1 minute on each side or until lightly toasted.

4. Spread a thin layer of hummus inside each pita pocket, then top with a thin layer of sour cream.

5. Stuff each pocket with cooked turkey burger and garnish with tomatoes and cucumber. Serve with your favorite summery side dishes!

DO YOU SEE THAT YUMMY CHUNK OF FETA? Yea, they’re that good.

I ate mine so fast and forgot to pay my sides any attention. They had to wait until I wrote this spectacular recipe down. Enjoy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 5:32 pm

    Nothing quite like a pita overstuffed with lovely greek tasting meat. Love the recipe. I’ve now got a pita craving – I used to live off them, but I’ve not had any in so long. I know, I’ll bake and blog some! :D

  2. Nickie permalink
    August 29, 2011 1:32 pm

    Love anything in a pita! I will definitely have to try these :) I’m also loving how yummy your side veggies look. I feel as though that is where I consistantly slack in my cooking…veggies. I don’t even try to get creative with them. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

Baked Bree

Baked Bree - Eat Well. Laugh Often.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

