Skip to content

A Poll! Open House Party?

August 24, 2011

Now that the house is shaping up and we’re getting our act together, AND the temperatures have broken 100 degrees for more than a day, it is finally time for us to show our house off! I’ve been thinking about having an open house in September, an opportunity for family, friends, and new neighbors to come over, hang out, eat good food, play games, and see all the things we’ve done to our abode.
Here’s where I’m stuck. What kind of party do I want this to be? Of course I have to have a theme, or at least a general direction for the party. I’m cheesy like that. So, I’ve come up with a few options for you to consider:
1) Post-Game Tailgate

We all know how I am an ENORMOUS Mizzou fan, so my initial idea was to center a party around a televised Mizzou game. Then, I realized… we don’t have cable. So the next logical idea is to have the post-game party at our house! Tailgate food, yard games, and lots of fun and friends. I could even put on awesome football movies in the background. …OR…

2) Ice Cream Social

Who doesn’t love ice cream and the fun of making your own giant sundae? Thanks to BHG for the idea (and bascially all the inspiration for my house)There would be a frosty buffet of a million different ice cream/sorbet/sherbet flavors and even more creative and delicious toppings. Plus yard games and board games and other fun things. …OR…

3) Fall Fest

I’m thinking caramel apples, seasonal beer, a gourmet hot dog bar,  a fire pit, s’mores, oh, so many good ideas. Fall is definitely a favorite among my friends and this would be a great, festive way to kick off the season. And, of course, fun and games for all. …OR…

4) Cocktails and Cookies (Milk and Cookies for the lil ones)

I’ve done a dessert bar before, and it seems to be a hit. Plus, it’s fun to make a million different kinds of cookies – good practice for Christmas! I found a Milk and Cookies party on Pinterest, and though I’m pretty sure it’s meant for 3 year olds, we could perk it up with a few fancy-schmancy cocktails for all to enjoy (my crowd loves their libations) – Bailey’s milkshakes, Vanilla vodka and root beer “floats” (I have this root beer thing going on), and something with that spiked whipped cream I saw at the store the other day.

So, thoughts? Should I combine some of these ideas? Let me know what you think! What would be the most fun for all to enjoy? Vote in my poll and leave a comment!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mamma K permalink
    August 25, 2011 10:43 am

    I loved the fall idea and the milk and cookies one too, but I couldn’t vote for both! Sounds like fun and I would love to bring something!

  2. Carlene permalink
    August 29, 2011 11:11 pm

    The fall idea was my first pick! Any of them would be great! Let me know what to bring too, if you would like us to come!

Leave a Reply

Baked Bree

Baked Bree - Eat Well. Laugh Often.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

