Skip to content

Tastes Like Liberty

August 22, 2011

I am excited to present my first recipe for this blog!!! It took a lot of thought and consideration in deciding what recipe to post, since I have about a million pictures on my computer from various cooking endeavors that I plan to share with you. I wanted to start on the right foot and post something unique and special. So here it is… nearly 2 months after I made it.

On the Fourth of July, I was in charge of bringing delectable sweet treats to my parents’ annual pool party. I wanted to make something with an Americana feel that was unique and soothing on a hot hot day! I immediately thought of a root beer float cupcake recipe I found here. However, to foil my plans, there were already going to be cupcakes at the party. Still, I couldn’t get this root beer float idea out of my mind.


Then it hit me. Ice. Cream. Sandwiches. Perfect for a pool party. Perfectly American.

Picture it. Rootbeer flavored cookies + ice cream in the middle = Root Beer Float deliciousness.

….

Yum.

I have made homemade chocolate chip ice cream sammies in the past, but not root beer inspired ones. So I searched the internet for some help. I’m great at concocting these delicious sounding ideas, but not so good at developing my own recipes for carrying them out. This is where I want to improve in my domestic capabilities. I’d love to have base recipes memorized and just know how to modify them to create these dreamed up delicacies. Someday I will conquer this!

                     (I should warn you, the cookies spread.. As evidenced by the above photo!)

After critiquing and scrutinizing several recipes for ideas, I came across this gem from Cafe Johnsonia. I envisioned them combined with frosty chocolate chip ice cream and a teeny bit of frozen frosting. After daydreaming of this combo for a few seconds, I immediately hit the grocery store for this stuff…

Root Beer Extract. Scrumptious. I may have been a little heavy-handed with it. I may have eaten a spoonful of it by itself. It’s that good. And who ever heard of such a thing as too much root beer? Not I.

Root Beer Float Ice Cream Sandwiches
adapted from Cafe Johnsonia

* Disclaimer *This recipe requires several hours of chilling/freezing, so plan accordingly!

1 c. unsalted butter
2 c. brown sugar
2 large eggs
2+ tsp. rootbeer extract and 1+ additional Tbsp. (separated)
3 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/4 c. water (if necessary)
1 container vanilla frosting or a batch of your fave homemade buttercream
1 quart chocolate chip ice cream, slightly softened

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
3. Beat in eggs, individually, then add the 2 tsp. root beer extract (can add more, of course, to achieve the desired root beer-i-ness)
4. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients and whisk, then slowly add to wet ingredients. Beat until combined and creamy – should be a bit sticky. This is where you can add the water if the batter seems too dry (I didn’t have to).
5. Chill batter for at least an hour, then scoop/roll into 1 inch balls and evenly space on cookie sheet, leaving ample room for spreading.
6. Bake at 350 degrees for 6-8 minutes, then cool completely on a wire rack.
7. Combine frosting with remaining 1 Tbsp. of root beer extract, again, adding as much or as little to achieve the desired flavor.
8. Once cooled, scoop 1/2 c. servings of ice cream onto the underside of one cookie. Spread to edges of cookie and top with another cookie, creating a sandwich. Repeat until all cookies are paired, then freeze immediately.
9. Once ice cream has solidified more, ice top of each sandwich with root beer frosting. Continue to freeze for at least 2 hours and until ready to serve.
10. Serve with lots of napkins and enjoy!

God Bless the USA for, among MANY other things, allowing us to freely enjoy this delicious trio of root beer, ice cream, and baked goods.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 11:52 am

    Looks bloody amazing. So so good.

  2. Carlene permalink
    August 23, 2011 9:25 am

    DeAnne, I love your blog. This looks amazing!! Good Job on the whole blog, I like the pictures!!

  3. August 23, 2011 2:41 pm

    YUM!! What a great summertime idea! You need to keep sharing these recipes!

Leave a Reply

Baked Bree

Baked Bree - Eat Well. Laugh Often.

Annie's Eats

A blog about cooking, baking, and other culinary adventures.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 503 other followers

